The Glovertown Museum
The Janes House
The Janes house was built in 1898 for Ambrose and Sarah Janes of Gooseberry Island. They had 10 children; 4 girls and 6 boys. For many generations, they were able to keep the house in their family, passing it from relative to relative. However, in 2004, the last residents of the Janes family home donated the house to the town of Glovertown to be transformed into the Glovertown Museum. As one of Glovertown's oldest structures, it's certainly a fitting place to display and preserve the town's rich and interesting history!
The Janes house is now home to many artifacts, from traditional Newfoundland fishing gear to hunting utensils used by the Maritime Archaic Indians. Our museum is a great place to learn about resettlement in Newfoundland, traditional logging, boatbuilding, and the everyday way of life in our unique and beautiful province!